Second Home Kitchen and Bar in Denver, Colorado

Happy New Year!  My first post for the new year is about food.  Surprise, surprise!  It seems as though most of my posts are about food.  I may need to branch out a little bit more in 2013.  :)  We rang in the New Year at Second Home Kitchen and BarSecond Home Kitchen and Bar is located in the JW Marriott in Cherry Creek.  I have mentioned the JW Marriott in a previous post:  http://lovelivingincolorado.wordpress.com/2012/04/25/president-obama-in-colorado/

I wanted to spend this new year around lots of people.  I didn’t want to be at home.  I wanted to be around the excitement that fills the air when ringing in the new year.  The countdown, the smiles, the anticipation of a better year filled with resolutions and changes…I wanted to raise my complimentary glass of champagne and yell “Happy New Year!”

My husband made all the arrangements for Second Home Kitchen and Bar.  He did good:)!  We started our meal with the Spicy Tuna Tartare -$14
sashimi grade tuna, bok choy, sweet pea aioli, wonton chipsIMG_20130105_101424This was absolutely delicious!  I could have eaten two!

For dinner I ordered the Seared Organic Scottish Salmon -$26
Colorado black quinoa, squash, asparagus,
lemon butter–I can’t even begin to explain how wonderful this entree tasted.  The portions are really generous and the seasoning on all the dishes was perfect.IMG_20130105_101457My husband ordered the Braised Bison Short Rib -$26
parsnip mash, garlic seared kale,
whole grain mustard demi glace.  The meat literally fell off the bone.  He was in Heaven!IMG_20130105_101600I did order a table side of Sweet Potato Fries for $6.00.  I couldn’t help it.  IMG_20130105_101531We also ordered dessert.  We really indulged on New Year’s Eve.  Before heading to dinner I think we both knew that dessert would be ordered.  We ordered two desserts.  The first dessert was  the Irish Cream Crème Brûlée -$7
sugar cookieIMG_20130105_101626Sorry about the picture quality.  I was using the camera on our phone and it looks like I picked up a shadow.  This dessert was yummy.  To be honest, any Creme Brulee is awesome!  We also ordered the Chocolate Bread Pudding -$7
chocolate covered espresso beans, chocolate sauce, brownie gelatoIMG_20130105_101654I could eat those little pieces of bread pudding in the morning with coffee.  I like a little bit of chocolate with my bread pudding.  Yum!

Second Home Kitchen and Bar provided a wonderful dining experience.  We really enjoyed the restaurant ambiance.  Ringing in the new year at Second Home was a great experience.  P.S.  we want to try their Sunday Pajama Brunchhttp://secondhomedenver.com/cherry-creek-restaurant-food/brunch-menu/

Second Home Kitchen and Bar contact information:

Hours: breakfast & lunch: 7 – 2 | dinner: 5-10 (11 on Fridays and Saturdays) | Address: 150 Clayton Lane | Denver CO 80206 | T 303.253.3000 | F 303.316.4697

About lovelivingincolorado

My husband and I are transplants to Colorado and we love it here!! There is so much to see and do in Colorado that I thought it would be a good idea to start documenting our adventures via blogging. We appreciate any suggestions on all things Colorado.
This entry was posted in Blog, Cherry Creek North, Colorado, Denver, Dessert, Eats, Food, Foodie, Neighborhood, photo, Photography, picture, Restaurants, Review, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Second Home Kitchen and Bar in Denver, Colorado

  1. Noralee Parsons says:

    Happy New Year lovelivingincolorado and happy eating – can’t wait to get back to Denver to eat my way through the city.

  2. Lilly Sue says:

    This food looks yummy!!

What do you think?

