Pikes Peak and the Road to Heaven

I know that lately I incessantly talk about the heat here in Colorado.  I am sorry.  However, in my defense (which I have a good one) we don’t have central air conditioning and I just heard on our local news that July was a record breaker as far as heat is concerned.  See, there is my justification for whining about the heat:)  On to the positive….we try to be as proactive as we can on the weekends to beat the heat so we headed to Pikes Peak.  In Colorado, the higher the elevation the cooler the temperatures.  There is no better way to cool off naturally than to drive to an elevation of 14,110 feet.  I feel blissful when I see the temperature gauge in the car drop.  It is the most exciting feeling to see 95 degrees drop to 58 degrees.  Amazing!  The pictures in this post are of the drive up to Pikes Peak.  I will post more pictures of the view up at the top of Pikes Peak in a different post.  FYI–I had to wear my fleece at the top of Pikes Peak–:)The picture above shows the beginning of the drive.  There is a fee to drive to the top of Pikes Peak.  We paid $12.00 per person.When driving to a higher elevation in Colorado you never know what kind of weather to expect.  The pictures show clouds and then sun.  You can also expect rain, thunder, lightning, hail, and even snow.The road that leads you to the top of Pikes Peak is very windy.  But, the views are phenomenal.  I like this picture.  I am not sure what I was trying to capture but I love the way the sun has reflected itself on the mountain.  There is also a faint rainbow image just below the clouds.

Do you like the heat?  I prefer the fall and the winter.  I feel like it is easier to get warm than to cool off. 

8 thoughts on “Pikes Peak and the Road to Heaven

  1. Ok, now I feel totally guilty. I can’t believe I’ve lived near Pikes Peak for the past fifteen years and have never driven to the top. This excursion moves to the top of the list….lol. Great photos!

  2. I loved your photos, too. And despite growing up in the Denver area, I never have driven to the top of Pikes Peak either! Now I know a good excursion for the next time I’m in Colorful Colorado.

What do you think?

