Colorado VisionWalk

This post is dedicated to my friend Ellie who has been living with Retinitis Pigmentosa since she was 5 years old.  On October 13, 2012 at City Park in Denver, Colorado the Colorado VisionWalk will take place.  I am not asking for you to donate.  I am just making people aware.  I actually didn’t know about Retinitis Pigmentosa until I met Ellie.  This is a little bit of Ellie’s story from her Colorado VisionWalk page:

As many of you know, I have been living every day since I was 5 years old with a blinding eye disease, Retinitis Pigmentosa. Because of this disease, my worst enemies in life seem to be bright yellow caution wet signs and large orange construction cones! It doesn’t matter how big or bright they are or the fact that they are in the direct location of where I am walking, it is inevitable that my fabulous eyeballs won’t see them and I trip over them every time. Then smoothly look around to make sure no one saw me! (hehe!)

VisionWalk is a signature fundraising event of the Foundation Fighting Blindness, a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization. Over 10 Million Americans are affected by blinding retinal diseases including macular degeneration, retinitis pigmentosa and Usher syndrome. The Foundation Fighting Blindness is working to find treatments and cures for these devastating diseases. By funding leading edge research in area such as genetics, gene therapy, transplantation, artificial retinal implants and pharmaceutical and nutritional therapies. The Foundation Fighting Blindness is making a difference today to make the world a brighter place for those suffering with retinal degenerative diseases.

To find out more about participating in the Colorado VisionWalk please visit:  http://www.fightblindness.org/site/TR/VISIONWALK/VisionWalktr?fr_id=4714&pg=entry&AddInterest=1561

2 thoughts on “Colorado VisionWalk

  1. HEATHER!!!! You are so dang sweet! Thank you so very much for highlighting such an amazing cause that is near and dear to me. I cannot wait for the VisionWalk next weekend and have been blessed to raise over $1600 thus far for sight-saving research. WOOHOO!!!! Love your blog… keep up the Colorado spirit! xoxo Ellie

What do you think?

