The Winery at Holy Cross Abbey

We finally went to our first winery in Colorado.  We were on our way to Royal Gorge Bridge and Park in Canon City, Colorado when we were pleasantly sidetracked by The Winery at Holy Cross Abbey.  I am glad we stopped at the winery.  To be honest, I had a little too much coffee and I needed something to take the edge off of my caffeine high.  We decided to try the complimentary wines.  We also tried the reserve wines for a $1.00 per tasting.  The grounds are beautiful.  We were able to walk our dog around the property before we went inside to taste some delicious wines.   I am by no means a wine connoisseur.  I usually play it safe by drinking Pinot Noir.  I enjoyed tasting the wines at The Winery at Holy Cross Abbey.  Honestly, I like tasting wine pretty much anywhere.  Sadly, we didn’t buy any wine.  Instead I bought some early Christmas gifts at the gift shop.

We tried the white wines and the red wines.  My husband tried the sweet wines at the end of our tasting.

If you are going to Canon City, Colorado soon I recommend a stop at The Winery at Holy Cross Abbey.  Pack a lunch, bring your dog, and enjoy the wines as well as a picnic on their beautiful property.

The Winery at Holy Cross Abbey is located at 3011 E. Highway 50, Canon City, Colorado 81212 (719) 276-5191.

2 thoughts on “The Winery at Holy Cross Abbey

What do you think?

