Royal Gorge Bridge and Park in Canon City

Back in March I posted about a Colorado “to do” list–https://lovelivingincolorado.wordpress.com/2012/03/13/colorado-to-do-list/

The first place that I mentioned on my list was the Royal Gorge Bridge and Park in Canon City.  We finally made it to the gorgeous, awe-inspiring, breathtaking suspension bridge.  The Royal Gorge Bridge is one of the world’s highest suspension bridges.  It hangs 956 feet above the canyon and spans a quarter mile across the canyon.

Important facts that intrigue me about the Royal Gorge Bridge and Park:

The Gorge was created some three million years ago when a trickle of water first began to slowly carve a canyon out of the solid granite bedrock. Today that trickle is the raging Arkansas, one of America’s longest rivers. And the masterpiece that it continues to carve at a rate of one foot every 2,500 years is the Royal Gorge in Cañon City, Colorado. The Royal Gorge is considered a world wonder, and is often referred to as the Grand Canyon of the Arkansas River. Yet it’s unlike any other canyon. The width at the canyon bottom is no more than 40 to 50 feet, while the top measures only a few hundred feet wide.

The Royal Gorge Bridge & Park is unlike any destination you’ll ever experience. A journey of epic proportions with more than 360 acres and 21 rides, shows and attractions to explore.You can walk across the bridge and drive.  We did both.  It was a little unnerving.  But we did it!  There was a slight separation between some of the wooden planks.  The picture below shows what you can see between the slight separation of the planks.  I thought this sign was funny.  What kind of fishing pole would you have to own to reach the water below?Flags from all 50 states line the bridge.  Of course, I took a picture of the Colorado flag.  I highly (no pun intended) recommend a trip to the Royal Gorge and Park in Canon City.  The park is a great place to relish in the beautiful Colorado landscape.

23 thoughts on “Royal Gorge Bridge and Park in Canon City

  1. Hello, there! I love the post and pictures about the Royal Gorge Bridge. I was wondering if I could possibly use a couple of the images in a slide show I’ll be presenting at a Church function next week. Please e-mail me at rebekah@thecomputersmith.net and let me know if this would be possible. Thank you!

    ~Rebekah~

    • Hi Rebekah, thank you very much for asking about the pictures. I really appreciate it. You are more than welcome to use the photos, I just ask that you please give me credit. Good luck with your presentation. Have a great week.

What do you think?

